Talk at event on Mazatec culture

Carte - Final, Jornada MazatecaOn the 5th of June there will be an event on “Mazatec culture, shamanism and sacred plants” at the Autonomous University of the State of Morelos, Mexico.

I have been invited as one of the speakers and my presentation will be about the latest research on the psychological effects of the use of sacred mushrooms.

The title is: “Nuevos estudios sobre los efectos psicológicos de los hongos sagrados: Neurociencia y modelación”.

I propose that we can better understand the latest neuroscientific results about altered brain function, especially related to increased levels of entropy, from the perspective of complex systems theory.

2 Comments

  1. March 31, 2016 at 8:44 pm

    Hi, Dr. Froese !
    I met you briefly at this Mazatec Culture event.
    I really was impressed in how new approaches to very old problems are sheding light on these obscure subjects.
    Since then I have been following your work, and I’m sending this note because it may interest you and your followers:

    1.- It seems not many people is aware of this young mexican group doing embodiment experiments using HMD as the oculus rift.
    you can fin them at :

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BeAnotherLab

    or

    http://www.themachinetobeanother.org/.

    2.- Another not well known organization is The Global Consciousness Project that uses real, hardware based Random Number Generators around the world to scan the relation between events that cohere the minds of millions of people and increase coherence of the RNGs.
    They used to have a RNG in Mexico City, but it seems it is not working anymore…

    3.- Finally. as you said… There is noting new under the sun… It happens tha more than 25 years ago there was a very capable but controversial researcher at Facultad de Psicologìa UNAM, who did several experiments on brain interactions,,, `pease google:

    Jacobo Grinberg Sylverbaum

    Well, I hope some people finds this info useful!

    Regards…

    • Tom Froese said,

      April 1, 2016 at 1:45 pm

      Hi Eugenio,

      Many thanks for your message! All three points you raise are quite fascinating indeed. Let me briefly respond to them:

      1.- This is the first time I hear about this project. I very much like the goal: to make use of human-computer interfaces in order to help expand our capacity for empathy. This aligns nicely with my proposal to use such technology in order to explore mind-as-it-could-be.

      2.- I have heard about this project before. I am intrigued, but not yet fully convinced. So far I have restricted myself to arguing for the possibility of extended consciousness only on the basis of direct social interaction. But I cannot rule out completely the possibility that consciousness has subtle effects on physical matter even outside of such interactions given that: (1) I accept that consciousness is a property of a brain-body-environment system as a whole, and (2) I accept that the personal-level places constraints on the lower levels of that whole system.

      3.- And I have also heard about this researcher before, especially in the context of measuring inter-brain interaction. I hope that I will have a chance to learn more about his work at some point.

      All the best,
      Tom


Leave a Reply

