Clarification of English translation of job title

It has come to my attention that some people have interpreted my translation of my current official Spanish job title (“Investigador Asociado C”) as the English title “Associate Professor” as motivated by self-aggrandizement. Nothing could be further from my mind.

The fact of the matter is that there is no officially sanctioned translation from my university, and there are different translations in use. For example, in a job advertisement of the same category of position, we find it translated as “full-time tenure-track assistant / associate professor”, whereas the more literal translation of “Research Associate” has instead been used in the context of calls for postdoctoral appointments. Nevertheless, I now realize that there are also institutes of the university that have reserved the translation of “Associate Professor” for the Spanish job title “Investigador Titular B” and I do not want to give the impression that I share their job title.

Accordingly, I have removed my English job translations from this website and from my CV. Until the university gives an official statement on the matter of how to translate UNAM job titles I will henceforth simply describe myself as being a “tenure-track faculty member”.

Leave a Reply

